Banks in New Zealand

The banking system of New Zealand is clearly reflected in healthy bank capitalization, high profitability, and positive asset quality. More than 30 registered banks with tens of thousands of employees are registered in New Zealand.

In New Zealand, four large Australian banks (ANZ, ASB, BNZ, and Westpac) make up 86 percent of the local market. Five New Zealand banks account for 8 percent of banking services.

Top 10 New Zealand Banks

  1. ANZ Bank New Zealand
  2. ASB Bank
  3. Kiwibank
  4. Bank of New Zealand
  5. Cooperative Bank
  6. SBS Bank
  7. Rabobank New Zealand
  8. TSB Bank
  9. Industrial and Commercial Bank of China in New Zealand
  10. Westpac New Zealand

Opening Hours

Banks in New Zealand usually open Monday to Friday at 9.00 am or 9.30 am – 4.00 pm or 4.30 pm. Some branches operate on Saturday at 9.00 am – 3:00 pm.


The New Zealand Dollar (NZD) has been the official currency of New Zealand since 1967. It is also used on the Cook Islands, Niue, Tokelau, and the Pitcairn Islands. The New Zealand dollar equals 100 cents.

Currency Exchange

You can often get a much cheaper rate if you exchange money upon arrival in New Zealand.

Airports and hotels usually offer the worst exchange rates and the highest prices. Banks and currency machines are only slightly better. In New Zealand it is always a better option to withdraw money from an ATM.

List of Banks in New Zealand

Banks' Branches and ATMs in New Zealand

Trying to find a bank branch or ATM in New Zealand?
Choose your bank from the list below, click on the title and get the full list of branches/ATMs with addresses, contacts and opening hours.

SWIFT/BIC Codes of Banks in New Zealand

Full list of New Zealand banks’ BIC/SWIFT codes that are used to make domestic and international payments and money transfers in New Zealand.

Scroll to Top