Banks in Austria

Austria has one of the most solid banking networks in Europe, with 809 credit institutions operating a total of almost five thousand branches.

In Austria, there is a distinction between banks with single-tier and multi-tier sectors, as well as according to their legal form and their affiliation to the respective professional association.

In the first group are joint-stock banks, state mortgage-issuing institutions, building societies and special banks.

The second level of banks includes savings banks and Volksbanken, and on the third level are so-called Raiffeisen banks.

Opening times

The opening times often vary from bank to bank as well as from branch to branch. However, most banks in Austria are usually open from Monday to Wednesday from 8:00 to 15:00 and from 8:00 to 17:30. Some branches are closed from 12:30 to 13:30.

Banks do not work on Saturdays, Sundays and on public holidays. However, if with online banking, clients can make transactions around the clock. The bank’s lobbies are usually open 24 hours a day and have ATMs and bank statement printing machines.

List of Banks in Austria

SWIFT/BIC Codes of Banks in Austria

Full list of Austrian banks’ BIC/SWIFT codes that are used to make domestic and international payments and money transfers in Austria.

Scroll to Top